Web hosting saga part 3: One&One has no customer service

September 25, 2008 at 2:45 pm 2 comments

So, back when I was still relatively new at web design, I was cruising around the net looking for web hosting after my bad experience with Startlogic, and I found One&One at one of those “Top Ten Hosting” pages that supposedly reviews the different hosting companies and declares which ones are the top ten to deal with (last time I ever trust one of those sites, by the way). I see One&One on there and along with checking out a couple of other ones decide that One&One looks pretty good and the price is right for both their hosting and their domain registration. So I decide to bite and buy a domain and the basic hosting to go along with it. This is where the headache starts, and is certainly the last time I buy hosting without doing my research. Now I use Web Hosting Buzz, and highly recommend them.

I start getting set up, and the control panel One&One has is just about the worst thing to work with. Ever. Impossible to do anything I want, and there’s no support documents anywhere that tell me what I need to know in order to be able to figure it out. I mean, seriously, it wouldn’t cost One&One all that much time/money to pay somebody to write up some REAL support documents that actually tell people how to use the hosting services. And I already know a thing or two about building a website – I can’t imagine how terrible this would be if I were a total newbie…

So, as I’m wrangling with the hosting and trying to figure it out, I make my second major mistake – I decide to buy a second domain from One&One. Stupid.

I go through with the process, my credit card is charged, and I wait three days, and the domain doesn’t show up in my account with One&One online… So, starting to feel kind of frustrated, I decide I’ll call up customer service and see whats up.

A lady answers the phone, and I literally can’t understand a word she says. Part of the problem is the accent, which I don’t recognize and can’t understand. Also, the volume coming from her end is extremely low, so I have to strain to hear it. 10 minutes of wrangling with her we’re still at square one and she hasn’t been able to understand my problem.

I start demanding to talk to her manager, but she keeps refusing me – says he’s busy and unavailable to talk to customers at that time… Now I’m starting to get kind of pissed. I tell her to take down my phone number and have her manager call me when he is available.

Five business days later I still haven’t heard back from One&One I call the customer service again. Same run around – this time the dude on the other end of the line understands my problem, but can’t help me with it – he doesn’t understand what is wrong on their end. Six more phone calls to One&One (all initiated by me) and I’ve still gotten nowhere. There is no customer follow up, and I never talk to the same person twice. Half the people either can’t understand me or I can’t understand them.

So, after about a month of wrangling, I finally give up and want to cancel my hosting, get my money back for the domain I never received, and transfer my other domain away from One&One over to a different host. Hah! Good luck…

I’m going to spare the rest of the details, but suffice it to say that six months later I finally got reimbursed for the domain that I never got, and two more months after that I was able to transfer my domain away from OneandOne. I never got back my money from the hosting and ended up paying for the whole 12 months. Anyway, at least I was able to prevent them from charging my account for more time by proactively calling them up and swearing at them over and over again…

In summary, my customer experience with One&One was one of the worst customer experiences I’ve ever had… The small amount of money I saved by going with One&One was definitely not worth the headache and pain of the experience.

Entry filed under: History. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Welcome to the Inexpensive Hosting Resource

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Web hosting saga part 1: Overview « Inexpensive Hosting  |  September 26, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    […] Next up on my mis-adventure was OneandOne. I also found them just cruising the net, and their price looked great, and I liked the fact that they were described as being the “biggest” and “number one” hosting company on the web. I figured that if they really were that huge then all those people must be satisfied to stay with them and keep signing up, right… Wrong. I can also emphatically say that OneandOne is NOT the best inexpensive host. Read about my experience with OneandOne here. […]

    Reply
  • […] eventually moving the client’s site over to a hosting account I opened with Thinkhost (with a misadventure with One&One first), which has been a great web hosting company for me. I strongly recommend Thinkhost or the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

 

Web Development & Design Blogs - Blog Top Sites

